davidbeem

Temple of Set

In Abyss of Chaos, Uncategorized on August 23, 2011 at 11:00 am
Temple of Set

After that horrifying discovery I wrote about in my last post, I did a bit of digging on the internet.  Typing in the phrase, “Temple of Set,” I discovered that there is a modern branch of the Church of Satan which uses that name.  Curious, I went to their webpage.  I’m not going to link to it here, because I’m not a dumbass who thinks linking to a group of Satanists is cool.  Sorry. If you’re curious, you can find it yourself using the same search I did.

What is interesting is that, in one of the “selected readings” from their website, they emphasize the significance of the word “Xeper.”  From Phineas’ encyclopedic lectures, I am unfortunately able to retain that Xeper is derived from Khepri, or Khepera, Kheper, Chepri, and Khepra.  Take your pick.  Seriously?  You try hanging around my godfather for more than five minutes and see if you don’t learn something you wish you hadn’t.  Multiply that by a lifetime of getting carted around the world for stuff like this and you’ll understand my predicament.  Thing is, if I don’t take care of Phineas, who’s going to?  So I’m stuck with this insufferable learning.  But if you’re reading this, it’s by choice.  Lucky you.

Xeper.

The Egyptian deity known as Khepri was associated with a scarab beetle, which laid its eggs in the bodies of dead animals, including other scarabs, or even feces.  When the cuddly baby scarabs emerged at birth, the ancient Egyptians thought they’d been created from dead matter. Hence the word “Khepri” or “Xeper” became synonymous with rebirth, renewal, and resurrection. From the Satanist website mentioned before, they’re translating it as “to come into being.”

Interesting to me, is that, today, I’ve found a modern religious organization associating themselves with the ancient Egyptian “evil” deity, Set.  From their website, they claim to attain different levels of a type of spiritual awakening derived from the power of words – an ancient Egyptian belief.  A significant word to them is “Xeper,” meaning, “to come into being.”  And speaking of words, as I finish this post, Phineas has finished his translation of the stone slab taken from the ancient Temple of Set.  The Temple which is over 3,000 years old, and only now discovered.  The slab of rock.  It’s sitting in our hotel room at this very moment.

On it: “Set has come into being.”

Leave a Reply

